Random ramblings

Just lately, I have been struggling (again) with a low mood, lack of sleep and all the crap that goes along with depression as well as a leak in my ceiling. My lovely neighbour upstairs has a crack in her shower tray and all the water is coming through my ceiling and into the living room, it has been for several weeks now. Annoyingly, our landlady is completely ignoring our emails and calls so nothing is being done about it. Outwardly, I wasn’t worried, I had towels and a pot to catch the water in and had moved my living room around so that the water didn’t get on my sofa. I have emailed several pictures of it to my landlady and had no response so I got the council involved. A lovely man from their private tenant department came round, took loads of notes and pictures of my issue and issues from a couple of other flats and assured me that, although it will take time because of the legal process they have to follow, it would get sorted. Although I wasn’t consciously bothered by this, I guess my brain was because after the man from the council came and I knew it was being dealt with, I slept for a little over 9 hours straight. Bearing in mind, I had been merely coping on 3-4 hours for several weeks, this was amazing!

I have been sensible though and saw my doctor yesterday. She prescribed me some sleeping tablets and said that she wanted me to try Cognitive Behavioural Therapy rather than switch my medication as, until recently, I was doing quite well on it. The sleeping tablets worked their trick last night but I woke up pretty fuzzy headed, not something to take on a Tuesday as that’s when I have a morning lecture at uni and I probably wouldn’t take anything in!

If you are struggling, like I was, seek help as soon as you notice it, keep in touch with friends or family and remember you are not alone. My friends and family have been a great comfort to me, as has my university mentor and it is this that stops me getting as badly depressed as I have been. If you know someone who you think is struggling, don’t assume they will contact you to tell you what is going on with them, a quick text or email will remind them someone is thinking of them and if they reply and reach out, think of how great it will make you feel. Once I am over this short blip, I will be back to my usual posts, I promise.

3 thoughts on “Random ramblings

  1. Hey Gerry’s mom, I’m sorry to hear your’e struggling. I am concerned about the sleeping pills. Could I suggest at least 30 min’s of exercise instead. I mean the sweat-producing kind. It really helps. I agree with you about not assuming people wil let us know if they are struggling with depression. However, it’s better for a person to reach out than to be reached out to. It puts them in the driver’s seat which makes them feel as though they’re in charge of something, which as you know is a feeling that depression robs us of.

    God bless. Take care of yourself. The Behaviorial Therapy sounds good like a good thing for you.

  2. Thanks Rebecca, I don’t take the sleeping tablets every night, believe me I had tried all sorts including the exercising and nothing else worked.
    I agree with what you say about leaving someone to contact you if they’re struggling but I’ve had times where others have picked up on it before I have.
    PS I didn’t even notice the 2 goods 🙂

Leave a Reply

