Getting back to study

I have been on summer break from Uni since 17th June, 9 weeks so far and my first lecture of the next academic year is on 30th September, just 6 weeks more to go! I am not going to say I am bored exactly but I am keen to get back to studying. I have read the details online of one of my modules and bought the required text book as I am really looking forward to starting it. It amuses me to think that I am excited and keen to get “back to school” when 30 years ago I would have been dreading the end of the school holidays. I am desparately hoping that this doesn’t mean I am becoming a proper adult, I don’t feel old enough for that yet. 

The year I am about to embark on is actually the other half of the first year although I am classed as a returning student so all future blogs I write about my studies will refer to stages instead, much easier to keep track of! I will spend 2 years at each stage as a part time student so no counting is involved. I am in stage 1 at the moment and, luckily in some ways, the marks that are achieved in this stage don’t go toward the degree classification. However, I do wonder that knowing this may make me take my foot of the gas sometimes. I am going to do my utmost not to let that happen this year and to start working as hard as I know I can but without breaking my brain anymore than it is already. 

I have had my disabled student allowances agreed for the next year, as I already have the equipment, it is just a case of them agreeing the additional incidentals that I will receive. And, once Student Finance England and my University have sorted their communication problems over my course code and the funding for my fees approved, I will be a very happy bunny. 

If you are older than the average school leaver attending University and are wondering whether you should obtain a degree, I would say if you can, go for it. Be aware though that part time students only get their fees paid, no additional grants or loans are available. Don’t let that put you off though, if you can work it financially and are determind to do it, do it. I have done a fair few things I would never had done if I wasn’t at Uni, such as attending a wine reception at the House of Commons and taking on an active voluntary role with SERV Kent, I didn’t feel useful enough before. Following your heart’s desire doesn’t have to be something that only the young can do anymore, I am doing it and enjoying it more day by day. 

Leave a Reply

